One year

Today I complete a year at my *new* work.

One early morning, around 1 am, sometime during the first week of April last year, I came to the realization that I’ve had enough. I had been on a call for 4 straight hours, and this was after a 9-hour day at work. Which was my daily schedule since the past 2 months. Weekends weren’t bereft of work either – in February and March there were 3 weekends where I had put in at least 20 hours.

You get the drift, right? It wasn’t the job that was shitty (I had been at it for over 6 years and I liked it), but the project I was working on. It was poorly planned and managed, understaffed, had unrealistic expectations and working towards a timeline which was absurd.

Once the realization dawned, I created a profile on Monster and started looking around. It wasn’t until a week later when I came across the job opening for the position I am currently holding. After 3 rounds of interview and 2 and a half agonizing months later, I got the offer. Those 2 and half months followed the same modus operandi as the months preceding them. Twelve hours workday and few hours every weekend. To say I was overjoyed would be an understatement. But I believe one person was even happier than I was. My wife. We were literally spending no more than 2 to 3 hours together every work day.

Changes in my life since I switched:

– No nightly calls, ever. I was spending anywhere between 2 to 4 hours every week night. The only time I had to work at night at my current job was when we had a migration of servers to new location and everyone had to test out. The added benefit of not having night calls: watch The Daily Show peacefully.

– The first half of last year I was playing in one football (soccer) league [yes I was still playing amid all the madness!] and now I’m playing in 2 leagues, subbing for another 2 and am a coach for a teenage league! This is probably the most playing time I’m getting in my entire life.

– Had a substantial jump when I switched. And, more importantly, a 401(k) match (which was not even offered in the old company), which actually takes effect from today!

– Would not have been able to start this blog!

Categories: Life | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “One year

  1. Congrats! Sounds like a great move for your life!

Leave a Reply

