Moving

[I started writing this 4 days after our actual move, and now it is over 3 months and I’m losing track of some of the initial emotions]

Moving (commonly known as “shifting” to Indians) homes is hard.

The last time we moved was in August/September of 2008. After the move I had taken a akhyandya pratigya (solemn oath) that we won’t be moving for a decade. It was that traumatic. Not only had we closed on the home 2 days after we got married, but that move involved moving stuff out from Vivian’s and my apartment at that time. And I was the last of 3 room-mates to be moving out. I had junk left behind by 3 people.

Fast forward to Mar 2014. We have moved. I have cut short my vow by 4 and half years. Waiting for lightning to strike me any moment. (After 3 months, and numerous thunderstorms, I think the universe has forgotten about our pact)

This time around we had plenty of time to plan the move. Vivian, the great packer she is, did most of the planning for the move. And the packing. And the unpacking. I seriously don’t know what I would do without her! She is truly the cornerstone of our family. Not that I didn’t do anything. I was mainly the delivery guy. Drive boxes to new place; unload. Repeat. We also hired professional movers to get the big stuff out. Even with all this time we had to plan, to execute, and the help we had, the move has left me exhausted. Not as much physically as mentally and emotionally.

I think people under-estimate the moving process. Even though the move is just 30 miles away, essentially in the same metro area. Or maybe it was just me who under estimated it. The change in the daily routine, the change in the location of where daily used items remain, the change in the layout of the home, the change in the commute, the change in the landscape ….there is a lot of change! Simple things like where the sugar is on the counter. Finding the bathroom in the middle of night. The angle the sun hits you in the morning. Disconcerting changes. But the thing with habit is that you can grow one if you continually follow it for 21 days. Safe to say that after 3 months, we would now have trouble going back to the old house!

And spare a thought for poor Brinda. Not only is she experiencing all these changes but she can’t articulate her feelings. But she has been a real trooper. After about the initial 2 weeks, during which she also had a bad cough, she has adjusted beyond my expectations. She now sleeps in her real crib, in her own room, throughout the night. Blessed we are!

Categories: Home | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Moving

  1. And on top of the home changes Brinda went through, she also had to adjust to a new daycare with new teachers and classmates!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

